Cameroon’s Ministry of Economy, Planning and Regional Development, MINEPAT, now values the World Bank Group’s portfolio in the country at $3.2 billion, or about CFAF 1.806 trillion. The figure, published on September 9, 2026, is $1.3 billion lower than the amount presented during the joint review in April 2025. The gap is 28.9% in dollar terms, but the available information does not establish that financing declined by the same proportion.
The ministry released the figure after Economy Minister Alamine Ousmane Mey met Harold Tavares, executive director for Africa Group II on the World Bank Group’s board, in Yaounde on September 8. The discussions covered ongoing operations and future projects. MINEPAT’s September 9 statement did not announce any signed agreement or new financing package. The CFAF 1.806 trillion therefore represents the stated value of the portfolio, not newly approved resources for Cameroon.
The ministry did not specify the number of active projects or how they are split between national and regional operations. It also did not distinguish among loans, grants, guarantees and private-sector investments, or provide the respective contributions of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the International Development Association, the International Finance Corporation and the Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency. It gave no disbursement rate or amount still to be disbursed.
An Unexplained $1.3 Billion Gap
During the April 2025 review, the portfolio was valued at $4.5 billion, or about CFAF 2.7 trillion, covering 22 national and regional projects. Commitments had increased by $826 million since April 2023. Energy and transport accounted for about $2.3 billion.
Compared with that benchmark, the amount published in September 2026 is $1.3 billion lower. The difference is CFAF 894 billion based on the exchange-rate conversions used on the two dates. Because those conversions were based on different exchange rates, the dollar comparison remains the more consistent measure.
Several factors could explain the gap, including project closures, partial cancellations, restructurings or a change in scope. MINEPAT, however, did not identify which operations could account for the decline from $4.5 billion to $3.2 billion.
The portfolio changes as projects are approved, completed or closed. In July 2024, when the 2025-2029 Country Partnership Framework was adopted, the World Bank Group already valued its commitments in Cameroon at $4.2 billion and announced more than $2 billion in additional financing over the period. That did not mean the portfolio would automatically rise to $6.2 billion, as some projects could close while others were approved.
New operations have since been approved. On March 17, 2025, one month before the joint review, the World Bank announced two financing packages totaling $400 million for budget support, revenue mobilization and public financial management transparency.
On June 12, 2026, the World Bank also approved $425 million for Cameroon under the first phase of the Douala-Bangui corridor program, including $407 million from the IBRD and $18 million from the IDA. The September statement does not specify how those commitments are reflected in the announced portfolio amount.
An 18.7% Disbursement Rate at End-June 2026
Beyond the portfolio’s stated value, disbursement data provide a clearer picture of how much financing has actually been released. As of June 30, 2026, the 21 projects covered by World Bank data for Cameroon had an overall disbursement rate of 18.7%, according to figures reviewed by Investir au Cameroun. The rate was 20.3% for national projects and 17.2% for regional operations. Only five projects had disbursement rates above 50%.
Those figures cannot, however, be applied to the CFAF 1.806 trillion portfolio to calculate how much has already been disbursed or remains available. The scope and reference date used for the new portfolio figure were not published, preventing a direct comparison between the two data sets.
For future World Bank Group support, MINEPAT cited energy, transport, agriculture, tourism and drinking water. The ministry also identified public financial management, state-owned enterprises and IFC support for the private sector. No future project was named, quantified or given a timetable.
Baudouin Enama
Credit: Source link